Fitting the Pieces Together

My view on how I learn has changed. As an adult learner I focus on how new information is processed. The different learning theories and styles gave me a scientific answer to learning. Malcolm Knowles, “Andragogy” (1980)  made four assumptions about adults as learners: (1) Adults tend to be more self-directed as a result of their maturity, (2) Adults possess personal histories which defines their identities and serve as a resource of experiential learning upon which new learnings can be applied, (3) Motivation in adults is directed to more socially relevant learning, and (4) Adult learners have interest in immediate application for problem-solving.

I began to reflex on the different learning theories of constructivism, “Constructivism is a theory that equates learning with creating meaning from experience.” (Bednar et al., 1991) and the learning styles that were introduced to me during my studies over the past weeks. Looking for the one style that identities my specific learning style. Am I a visual learner, kinesthetic learner or an auditory learner? I believe to have experienced all three learning styles. I realized that this changes depending on the course materials that I have a deeper interest in at the time.

 

download

 

My experience as an Andragogy learning who has experienced auditory, kinesthetic, and visual learning styles, as an online learning, know that technology plays an important and necessary role in my learning. Dr. George Siemens discuss connectivism learning theory that integrates technology. This information was presented in a class video where Siemens states, “Our knowledge literally is distributed across other networks of human beings, technological devices, and other ends.” (Laureate Education) The uses of technology to search for information is the fastest, but not necessarily the only way, to retrieve information for learning. Today there are a multitude of digital tools to assist the learner in this task. As for me, I prefer RSS feed readers, Youtube, and Google +, just to name a few. Because I interchange between a tablet and a desktop computer on a regular basis, I record and create information using Google Drive and other Google for education products. This web base product allows me to sync to all of my devices with an internet/wifi connection, (smartphone, tablet, work/home computer) at any given time.

 

References:

Laureate Education (Producer). (n.d.). Connectivism [Video file]. Retrieved from https://class.waldenu.edu

http://www.lifecircles-inc.com/Learningtheories/knowls.html

Ertmer, P. A., & Newby, T. J. (1993). Behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism: Comparing critical features from an instructional design perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4),50-71.

Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism: Comparing Critical Features from an Instructional Design Perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4), by P. A. Ertmer & T. J. Newby. Copyright 1993 by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Journals. Reprinted by permission John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Journals via the Copyright Clearance Center.

Bednar, A.K., Cunningham, D., Duffy, T. M., & Perry, J. D. (1991). Theory into practice: How do we link? In G. J. Anglin (Ed.), Instructional technology: Past, present, and future. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited.

2 thoughts on “Fitting the Pieces Together

Leave a Reply

